UNESCO Chair Global Health and Education Health Education, Prevention, Health Promotion, Children and Young People
 

Global Community Health Annual Workshop 4th edition – register now

The fourth edition of the Global Community Health Annual Workshop will take place from 4 till 6 June 2024 as an online event.

The main theme of this year’s workshop is ‘How can community health contribute to fighting poverty?’ The workshop will explore the root causes of poverty, and how poverty impacts community health. The value of community-based interventions – as a research method and also as a key health promotion strategy – should be recognised in this work. The workshop will be solution oriented. This year’s focus of capacity-building for the participants will be on ‘advocacy and activism’.

The workshop provides a space where community health and health promotion practitioners and policy makers can improve their skills and where researchers can gain in capacities to conduct community-based participatory research.

Format of the workshop

The global workshop will run during 3 consecutive days. To accommodate participants from all different time zones around the world, the workshop will be offered twice a day.

  • Block 1 will run from 10.00 – 13.30 Paris; 16.00 – 19.30 Beijing; 18.00 – 21.30 Melbourne.
  • Block 2 will run from 16.00 – 19.30 Paris; 7.00 – 10.30 Los Angeles; 11.00 – 14.30 Buenos Aires

It uses an interactive format ensuring active participation through a series of online lectures, combined with community heath hubs.

These community health hubs (smaller working groups) acknowledge our diversity and cultural dimensions and are offered in different languages including English, French, Spanish and other languages depending on the availability of facilitators. During the community health hubs participants have the opportunity to share experiences and build their regional and global networks.

The online lectures are held in the English language. We do not want language to be a barrier for participation. Therefore we are trying to organise simultaneous translation.

Registration

This interactive workshop will take place online and is free of charge. Practitioners, students, policy makers and researcher from different backgrounds from all over the world are welcome to join. You can register by completing the online registration form. Registration will close on Tuesday 28 May 2024, 16.00 CEST.

Organisers are the UNESCO Chair Global Health & EducationEHESP School of Public HealthInternational Union for Health Promotion and Education (IUHPE)Réseau Francophone International Pour la Promotion de la Sante (RÉFIPS)University of Clermont Auvergne and University of Huddersfield.

For more information about the workshop, please visit the dedicated webpage.